Initial Poster Creation

I chose to draft out my first idea for the film poster on paper rather than computer so that I can get a rough idea of the layout and to save time when actually using the software.

img_2227

Ultimately, I didn’t find this very helpful as I can’t write in the fonts that I’d desired. I did find it useful to write down the order of the billing block at the bottom though so that I can save time when I come to create my poster online. I feel like my drawing ability has let me down but in final production this will not be an issue as it will all be done on the computer.

I will now go on to create a rough idea of a poster using Pixelmator as I have used it earlier in my media studies so I am already quite confident in using it.

I googled the sizes of movie posters so I can create mine to the same dimensions as a typical film poster. This will mean that I have to ensure that the ratio of background covered with text is the same as found on real life posters.

The dimensions of real life movie posters are as follows:

  • 27″ by 40″
  • 40″ by 60″

Older movie posters may be found in:

  • 27 x 41″(One Sheet)
  • 22 x 28″(Landscape)
  • 14 x 36″(Portrait)

I then looked into what size movie posters are made in using Photoshop, which is a similar software device to Pixelmator in which photos can be edited and manipulated.

screen-shot-2016-10-14-at-09-29-25

This was helpful as it showed me a few tips on what to consider when creating my poster.

When opening up Pixelmator, I was presented with a list of dimensions to create my poster in. To ensure I chose the right one, I googled how to make a film poster in Pixelmator.

I was lucky enough to come across this really helpful video going through the steps of creating a film poster, and also including some little extras like how to cut the background out of a picture and to insert different font styles from the internet into the software. Unfortunately this is for iPad and I struggled to find a video of how to do it on a Mac, however I’m sure that there will be quite a few similarities. The video didn’t really explain which dimensions they used to create the poster, so I will use my own judgement with this based on the information I found on the previous website.

screen-shot-2016-10-14-at-09-38-51

I will choose the medium poster setting, as it should have similar dimensions to a large poster and I will carefully consider the ratios of everything I add to the background to ensure it looks similar to a genuine film poster.

When selecting it, I realised that the width and length weren’t all that different to the dimensions I found in the Photoshop blog. With this in mind I decided to change the dimensions to create my poster as realistically as possible, which will be helpful when choosing font sizes and positions.

Once I pressed okay, it took me to my blank poster document with the dimensions I found online. Visually, this looks about right so I am happy with my decision to change it.

Screen Shot 2016-10-14 at 09.57.23.png

I then had a little play around with the features available to gage whether or not Pixelmator is a fairly easy piece of software to use.

Through setting up the basic layout of my Pixelmator project and having a little play around with the software, I will quickly be able to get started on my poster once I have taken the pictures for it!

Leave a Reply

