Film Poster Additions

To ensure my film poster looks like a genuine and professional poster, I needed to add in all the extra parts that may not really stand out. This includes the release date, Twitter hashtag, website and other features. I simply did this by typing them into a text box and making them the same font as the billing block so they didn’t look different.

screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-10-49-36

I then need to fill the rest of the space underneath with other things that might be found on a poster, such as idents for production companies, the format it was filmed in (such as Dolby Digital or IMAX), and logos for funders.

I also wanted to add in some film awards to make it look like an independent film, as I found this was common in the short film posters that I’d looked at. To get some ideas for awards, I luckily came across this poster that had a huge range of awards that I could get inspiration from.

Screen Shot 2016-11-30 at 10.42.48.png

Then, I found a website which created custom made laurels for free. All I needed to do was type in the award name, the festival and the year received. Then, I downloaded it in jpeg from and dragged it straight into Pixelmator. The background of the laurel was white, but luckily the base of my poster is so light that the background just blended in, saving my time having to remove the background.

Screen Shot 2016-11-30 at 10.43.41.png

I then added in t he names of the main talents to the top of the poster, as this is a feature commonly found on film posters.

Screen Shot 2016-12-01 at 12.33.10.png

From adding these features, I feel that my poster is already starting to look quite professional and am happy with how it’s coming along.

 

Leave a Reply

