Creativity

Explain how your creativity/creative skills have developed over time. Refer to a range of examples from your media productions in your answer.

Plan

Had to be more creative this time, working on own

Last year didn’t utilise play back on camera, had to re film as some of the shots didn’t look right. Such as outside mother walking into house – shot was wonky, some angles looked odd. This year used play back, saw that a shot looked bad so had to think on spot to rectify – script on spot. My script didn’t sound realistic so had to think it up on set – more authentic

Researched into through wall shot last year – worked but could have done it more effectively by creating a box for camera to pass behind. Weren’t very creative as didn’t practice beforehand. This year, I researched how to hit someone over head – Movie Riot, showed 3 examples, I tried and modified them (slow mo, speed up, filter ect) meant I had the time to be creative with the shot, to perfect it

Last year only created drawn storyboards, didn’t allow me to be creative as my hand drawing isn’t very good, tried to follow storyboards but lead to me using my own creative ability on set instead of planning. This year I created animated storyboards to I could be creative with the frequency of the film, could re think the ending as couldn’t build pace.

Essay

Creativity had been an important aspect of the production of both my AS and A2 coursework, as it has helped to set my films apart from the rest. This year, I have had to be more creative as I worked on my own, as opposed to in a group of four last year, meaning that I had to constantly refine and alter my ideas to ensure my film had the best plot line possible. However, working on my own this year has allowed me to explore my own thoughts and desires for my film without my ideas having to be compromised to suit others.

Last year for the filming of my groups AS coursework, Mummy’s Girl, my group and I neglected to use the play back feature on the Nikon camera we used. When it came to editing, we realised that some of the shots didn’t look right, such as an outside shot of the mother walking towards the house looked wonky, and another shot was very out of focus. This lead to us having to re-film several shots on a different day, as these shots weren’t suitable. If we had used the play back feature, we would have been able to use our creativity to avoid having to re film, and we could have thought up other ideas to ensure that our shots weren’t wonky. This lack of creativity lead to us spending extra time filming which could have been spend editing our film. With this in mind, when filming my A2 coursework, I made sure to check every shot using the play back feature. In doing this, I realised that there was a shot of Andy’s silhouette through the glass of a green house. However, the glass was so distorted that it wasn’t clear what was happening on the inside. By checking the shot I had recorded, I was able to creatively think of what else to film to replace this shot. I filmed multiple close ups of him in the greenhouse which made the film look more mysterious and dramatic, and therefore creatively changing my ideas had an advantageous effect on my final film.

In Mummy’s Girl, we wanted to film a through the wall shot, so we researched how to do it. There were a lot of results suggesting that we created props, but there was a more simple video of a camera passing through a doorframe, with a blank screen in the middle. We decided to use this example as we thought it was easier, but we didn’t practice until it actually came to film the shot. This lead to us not filming the best shot possible. If we had practiced creating this shot before hand, we could have been creative with how to make it work best, and filmed different versions. So, when I researched how to hit someone over the head for Green Fingers, I ensured to practice what I had found. I found a YouTube channel called FilmRiot, which gave three examples, two using quite difficult editing techniques and involving different lenses, and one that simply involved reversing the clip. So, I practiced filming someone walking up to a person and looking like they were going to swing the shovel, and then the person pulling the shovel very quickly away from the persons head. In editing, I then reversed the shot and played around with it; adding filters, speeding it up and slowing it down. Through creatively editing the shots that I had recorded, I was able to prepare for when it came to editing in the future, to ensure that the murder shot looked as realistic as possible. My creativity skills have developed since last years project, as I have learnt to be as experimental as possible when editing shots, to ensure each part of my film looks the best it can.

My creative skills have developed since my AS coursework in terms of thinking on the spot on the days I have been filming. Last year there were four people in my group which meant that when problems arose, we were able to creatively tackle them together. For example, when we were filming our through the wall shot, we realised that the continuity of the shot was wrong as we had filmed the camera facing in two different directions. To solve this, we simply decided to flip the shots filmed in the living room to that we didn’t break the 180 degree rule and that our films continuity stayed in tact. This year was much more difficult in terms of thinking on the spot, and I had to be more creative to ensure I could get around issues that came up on set. When I was filming the argument for the final scene, I began to realise that the dialogue that I had written in my script sounded very unnatural and made my film look unprofessional. Since the actors had come out of their way to be in my film, I didn’t feel it was fair to send them away whilst I spent a week re-writing the script. So, my creativity skills came into use as I needed to think up new lines on the spot for the actors to say. This ended up in my film being far more fluid, as I was able to judge the tone set by the actors, as create lines that suited the mood of the film. Through my development of creativity, I have been assured that I can cope and react to any situations on set.

Ultimately, my creative skills have improved greatly since the production of Mummy’s Girl, and I have been able to resolve any problems that come up on set and explore different filming techniques with a more creative and experimental approach. This resulted in Green Fingers having a more fluid story line, filled with more creative and more interesting shots.

 

One thought on “Creativity

  1. Chloe

    The following is the exam board’s description of a level 4 answer, from the January 2012 mark scheme (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B0-c7NOkBricRzhzWV96RUMxczg):

    Level 4 (21-25 marks).

    There is a clear sense of progression and of how examples have been selected, and a range of articulate reflections on creative media practice. There is a fluent evaluation of progress made over time. Candidates offer a broad range of specific, relevant and clear examples of real media conventions in relation to creative practice. The use of media terminology and production terms is excellent.

    Complex issues have been expressed clearly and fluently using a style of writing appropriate to the complex subject matter. Sentences and paragraphs, consistently relevant, have been well structured, using appropriate technical terminology. There may be few, if any, errors of spelling, punctuation and grammar.

    I would mark your current answer as being Level 4, possibly 23/25.

    – A very good answer, Chloe, but a bit short. Can you think of anything to extend it a bit?
    – Certainly Level 4, maybe full marks if you add a couple of points.

    Like

Leave a Reply

