Post Production

Describe the most important post production decisions you made for your different media productions and explain why these decisions were significant. Refer to a range of examples in your answer to show your skills in post production developed over time.

Plan

Feedback – last year we created a rough cut very quickly and showed it to class, we then developed the film as a group. This year I did a rough cut but made sure it replicated the tone of my final film so that the feedback was accurate. Post production skill of creating rough cut allowed me to get audience feedback, by doing multiple showings. Was able to point out what made sense, how the characterisation was portrayed etc. Through showing different versions was able to perfect my film. Said that there should be more shots of him watering plants, unfortunately I didn’t film enough – had to go out and reshoot

Confidence using Final Cut Pro X – Last year used very basic, taught techniques. wasn’t very experimental so lead to a more basic film, no manipulation of pace etc. E.g. When mum is preparing tea, using special effects may have built tension. This year wanted to create murder scene – reversed shot. Filmed on different days – colour correction to make film continuous

Audio – last year just used sound from camera, wasn’t very loud and changed with how close action was to camera. This year used the microphone and boom pole as it was windy. Wind was very loud, contrast to rest of film. Had to re -record sound – more realistic/ natural sounding. Added in diegetic sounds as well – looked for indicator sound but had to record my own as none were royalty free. More authentic.

Essay

My improved post production skills have been vital to the final outcome of my A2 media studies, as they have lead to a more professional and technologically advanced piece of filming. Without the development of my post production abilities, my A2 film would have been very basic and not exciting to watch.

Through developing my post production skills, I have learnt the importance of receiving feedback on the post production work I have done. Last year, my group and I only presented our initial rough cut for our AS coursework, ‘Mummy’s Girl’. We gained a lot of helpful comments in terms of whether the plot made sense, but as our film was only in the early stages we weren’t able to receive any technical advice, such as whether a shot was too long or if the pace was wrong. For example, Mummy’s Girl featured a shot of the mother making tea for her and her daughter which we as a group felt lasted too long. If we had asked for feedback on this aspect, we would have been able to edit this section so that it suited the desires of our target audience. This lead to my group creating a film from only our perspective, which hindered our final outcome as we didn’t really get an insight into the audiences expectations. Through our poor post production skills, this year, for ‘Green Fingers’ I made sure to do several viewings to a variety of people to ensure that I had an idea what each age group thought of my film. Through doing this, I was able to make sure that the end of my film ran smoothly, as it featured a lot of short shots that were difficult to piece together without ruining the pace. By showing others frequently and asking for feedback, I was able to adapt the ending to ensure it made sense to the audience members, as my peers suggested slowing down the shots to make everything easier to understand. Through improving my post production skills in terms of asking for feedback, I was able to create a short film that was easy to understand by the audience, which if it were a real, released short film, would be an incredibly important factor.

My post production abilities last year have also increased since filming Mummy’s Girl through my confidence in using Final Cut Pro X to edit our film footage. Last year, we were new to the software so we only really stuck to very basic, taught functions within the programme to ensure that we could edit our film quickly and easily. This post production asked let my group and I down, as there was a part of Mummy’s Girl where we had aimed to film a ‘through the wall shot’, but the second half of the shot was filmed from the wrong side of the room which broke up the chronology of the film a great deal. This is because the room is viewed from one angle in one shot, and a completely contradictory angle in the other shot, making it look like the furniture in the room had moved. If our post production skills had been more developed, we would have been able to flip the shot using the available filters to avoid this confusion. With this in mind, I decided to be more daring in the post production of Green Fingers, and to try and use various ways of adapting my shots to make my film more interesting to watch. For example, when creating the murder scene of my film, I needed to reverse a shot of the man pulling the spade away from the woman’s head, so it looked like he was hitting her on the head with a shovel. Final Cut Pro X has a drop down menu which offers a variety of effects, such as speeding up a shot, slowing it down and reversing it. By using this function, I was able to create a shot that was both coherent with the film and interesting to watch, improving the overall outcome of my short film. Without this improvement of my post production skills, I would not have been able to create a realistic murder scene, meaning that I would have had to change the entire plot of my film.

Last year, when filming Mummy’s Girl, my group used the audio recorded on the Nikon camera to add dialogue to our film. This demonstrates a lack of post production skills as the audio was already imported into Final Cut alongside the film footage. However, this was a problem as the sound levels varied depending how close or far away the action we were filming was from the camera. Our lack of post production skills lead to inconsistent sound in our film, causing a poor final outcome. This year when editing Green Fingers, I chose to record my own diegetic sound rather than using the unclear sound from the camera, or royalty free sound effects off the internet as I struggled greatly to find a website which had the kinds of sound I wanted for free, for example the sound of an indicator to make the shot of Andy parking a little more interesting. To create this sound myself, I used a Zoom Handy Recorder from the media department and sat in my car with the indicator on. I made sure to record enough sound to fill the shot, and a little more incase some of the sound wasn’t useable. I then added it into Final Cut, lining up the action of the indicator flashing with each ticking sound. My development of post production skills meant that I was able to create a film that was full of diegetic sound effects that made my short film more immersive.

Ultimately, my post production skills have improved greatly since the production of my AS coursework, and has allowed me to be more brave when editing my films. Overall this has lead to a higher quality film.

Finished

One thought on “Post Production

  1. Chloe,

    The following is the exam board’s description of a level 4 answer, from the June 2014 mark scheme (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B0-c7NOkBricRzhzWV96RUMxczg):

    Level 4 (21-25 marks).

    There is a clear sense of progression and of how examples have been selected, and a range of articulate reflections on the use of post-production. There is a fluent evaluation of progress made over time. Candidates offer a range of specific, relevant and clear examples of post-production and creative decision making. The use of media terminology is excellent.

    Complex issues have been expressed clearly and fluently using a style of writing appropriate to the complex subject matter. Sentences and paragraphs, consistently relevant, have been well structured, using appropriate technical terminology. There may be few, if any, errors of spelling, punctuation and grammar.

    I would mark your current answer as being Level 4, possibly 21/25.

    – This is thorough and well written. You’re getting the hang of these now.
    – It would have been nice to have one more example, though, if you have time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

